Canon EOS 5D Mark II CT scan: reconstructed 3D model

Today I tried something new for me. This is my 5D Mk II with the 24-105 lens scanned in the CT at our institution. The 3d Model is reconstructed as a 3D model from 0,5 mm slices and processed by different algorithms. Looks interesting. Some artifacts (first image on right side) are visible due to the metal casing but overall quality exeeded my expectations. I have to try more of this…

Canon EOS 5D Mark II – CT (1), ursprünglich hochgeladen von martin zeile photography

Canon EOS 5D Mark II – CT (3), ursprünglich hochgeladen von martin zeile photography

3 responses to “Canon EOS 5D Mark II CT scan: reconstructed 3D model

  1. Dear Mr. Zeile,

    My name is Alexander Mijatovic and I’m designing and producing RC Zeppelins and Aerial Photography Systems. (www.rc-zeppelin.com)
    Currently I’m designing a 2 axis electronically gyro stabilized Camera rig for Canon 5D for Blimps and static systems.
    I’m interested if you can send me the 3D model of the 5D to accurately build the rig for it.

    Best regards

    Alexander Mijatovic
    Structure and Aerodynamics
    Aero Drum ltd / Rollmaps.com
    Vojislava Ilica 99a
    11050 Belgrade
    +381 11 2831 354
    +381 11 2833 216
    Skype: alexmijat
    __________________________________________________________
    http://www.rc-zeppelin.com Dedicated to top design. http://www.rollmaps.com

    • I do not have the dataset any more, but would be able to scan it once more. The question is if you can process a 3D imaging set consisting of dicom images. The would be a image set with a resolution of 1x1x2 mm of a siemens Multislice CT. You should know that the image will not be crystal clear, there are always a lot of hardening artifacts wisible which derive from x-ray passing metal and being partially absorbed. Just let me know.

Leave a Reply

