Buddleia (butterfly bush): Zoom experiment

buddleia / butterfly bush zoom experiment 1, ursprünglich hochgeladen von martin zeile photography

 
 

I tried this time something I saw recently to give this organary flower photo a more sophisticated touch.
I used my Tamron 28-300 macro zoom on a tripod (vibration control turned off). I made this one in the early evening with ISO 100 and 4 seconds exposure (f/22). The first 2 or so seconds I did nothing. the last to I slowly zoomed in, beginning at around 50 to 60 mm up to 150 or so. I needed a few tries but finally i got what I wanted and what you see in the two pictures above – a shallow glow-like halo around the flower. I did not try it the other way (to zoom out) as it comes to my mind right now, but for sure I will.
The black background was achieved by a black shirt hanging on my kitchen door in 50-75 cm distance, as simple as that is the small “home studio”.
I hope this encourages you out there to try this as well.

’till next time….

 

 

buddleia / butterfly bush zoom experiment 2, ursprünglich hochgeladen von martin zeile photography

Leave a Reply

